With or Without Lemon

In English, the sauces and condiments that come with oysters are called “accoutrements”, which means ‘costume’ or ‘silly outfit’ in French, making it sound like oysters are somehow ridiculous if they’re not naked.

With or without lemon?

In the past, to test whether a bushel of oysters was living or not, people would take one or two out, open them, and splash on a liberal amount of lemon juice or vinegar. If they reacted, it proved they were still fresh, if not, they wouldn’t be eaten. Is this the reason people always serve lemon with oysters?

Today, oyster connoisseurs think differently: oysters should be eaten plain, and that’s that! They think lemon wedges, mignonette dressing, and pepper grinders should be banned from any oyster bar.  These condiments supposedly cover up and change the natural taste of the oyster, just like the wine you drink with them.

But it’s not as simple as that. On one hand, it seems that some oysters hold up better than others to seasoning, while on the other, many culinary traditions exist for a reason. For our English friends – who call these different condiments accoutrements – there’s nothing heretical or ridiculous about adding a little lemon, Worcestershire sauce, or chilli sauce to an oyster. On the contrary, this adds another layer to their flavour.

Isn’t it just as unusual to alternate between eating raw oysters and pieces of chipolata sausage or hot crépinettes? This is how they’re eaten in the Bordeaux region, creating a delicious balance between the flavours of the land and sea.

Whether or not you yourself are a purist, at Les Huîtres de St-Clément, we believe that oysters are a treat no matter how you eat them and we serve each platter of oysters with… lemon.

Vous aimez ? Partager :

Avec ou sans citron?

Les anglosaxons utilisent le terme d’accoutrement pour désigner les sauces et condiments accompagnant l’huître, comme si une huître avait besoin d’être nue pour ne pas être ridicule…

Avec ou sans citron?

Autrefois pour s’assurer qu’une bourriche contenait des huîtres vivantes, on en extrayait une ou deux au hasard puis on les ouvrait et on les arrosait copieusement avec du citron ou du vinaigre. Si elles se rétractaient, c’était la preuve qu’elles étaient fraîches, sinon elles n’étaient pas consommées. Est-ce de cette coutume, qu’est née l’association des huîtres et du citron ?

Aujourd’hui, les connaisseurs n’en démordent pas: une huître se mange nue, un point c’est tout ! Le filet de citron, le vinaigre à l’échalote hachée ou le tour de moulin à poivre sont à bannir.  Ces assaisonnements couvrent et dénaturent le goût naturel de l’huître, tout comme le vin qui les accompagnent.

Ce n’est pas si simple. Il semblerait, d’une part, que certaines huîtres s’en accommodent plus que d’autres, et d’autre part, que les traditions culinaires y soient pour beaucoup. Pour nos amis anglo-saxons – qui d’ailleurs utilisent le terme d’accoutrement pour désigner les divers accompagnements de l’huître – il n’y a rien d’hérétique ou de ridicule à assaisonner ces huîtres de citron, de Worcestershire sauce ou sauce chili. Au contraire, cela leur apporte une dimension supplémentaire.

Mais n’est-ce pas plus insolite encore que de manger son huître crue en alternance avec des morceaux de chipolata ou de crépinette brûlantes ? On parle alors d’huîtres à la bordelaise, où les saveurs terre et mer se mélangent dans une savoureuse altérité.

Alors puriste ou pas, aux Huîtres de St-Clément, nous pensons que les huîtres se fêtent dans tous leurs états et sachez que toutes nos assiettes d’huîtres sont accompagnées de… citron.

Vous aimez ? Partager :